ALP candidates announced for March 2013 Council election

At the Primary held at Jam City on Sunday night, the Antigua Labour Party candidates for Barbuda Council elections were selected; with Bernie Newton securing the highest number of votes (82), followed by Calvin Gore (75), David Shaw (67), Tyrone Beazer (63), and Elvis Burton (57).

Elections are held every two years on Barbuda with candidates voting each time for four and five members alternatively, ensuring that there is always a quorum to carry on the duties of the Council. Currently the ALP has four members serving on the Council while the ruling BPM has seven, including the MP (Trevor Walker) and the Senator for Barbuda (Mackenzie Frank).

The Barbuda Council has been controlled by the BPM since the first election was held around 35 years ago. The ALP gained control for a brief period in 1996.

you can translate the site here


We like this...

Now, it's been too long.
Too long, too long in slavery.
Free the people and let them move in liberty
Now, it's been too long.
Too long, too long in slavery.
So the struggle continue.
But while the struggle continue, I'm going to tell you.
We rastaman will set the world free...

Joseph Hill - Culture

About us...

This is a community website based in Barbuda. We charge a small subscription for local businesses in order to fully represent our community and to maintain the cost of the site. Full details of what it costs to be on here are listed on our site information page. If you have found the information here helpful and would like to support us with a donation please look for the paypal link on our 'contact us' page.

Let us know about you...

We love to hear from you if you are a Barbudan here or overseas, tell us and we will promote your event, your business or your news. Or maybe you visited Barbuda for the first (or second or third) time? Send us your pictures. It's easy to be on the website - just send us an e mail.